✟8,996.00
Country
Australia
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Married
Hi,

I am new to this forum and find myself here this evening with a very specific situation that I’d be grateful for some insight on.

I am a wedding musician and recently accepted a booking through a booking agent. However, I did not do my due diligence and was unaware it was a same sex union until after confirming availability.

I do not believe I can actively be a part of this wedding and I think that in my country of residence I could potentially be under threat from discrimination laws for citing my religion.

I could of course provide an unrelated excuse not to do the wedding but would that be essentially denying my faith and God?

Thank you

Tinker Grey

Wanderer
Site Supporter
Feb 6, 2002
Erewhon
Visit site
✟942,599.00
Faith
Atheist
"Look, couple. I didn't realize that this was a same-sex marriage and I don't normally do those. I recognize that I made a commitment; I will keep my commitment; and, I will do my very best for you. But if you could release me, I would be grateful."

Upvote 0

Hammster

The fool hath said in his heart, There is no God.
Christian Forums Staff
Site Advisor
Site Supporter
Apr 5, 2007
New Jerusalem
Visit site
✟1,743,858.00
Country
United States
Faith
Reformed
Marital Status
Married
Hi,

I am new to this forum and find myself here this evening with a very specific situation that I’d be grateful for some insight on.

I am a wedding musician and recently accepted a booking through a booking agent. However, I did not do my due diligence and was unaware it was a same sex union until after confirming availability.

I do not believe I can actively be a part of this wedding and I think that in my country of residence I could potentially be under threat from discrimination laws for citing my religion.

I could of course provide an unrelated excuse not to do the wedding but would that be essentially denying my faith and God?

Thank you