Jul 31, 2016
Oklahoma, USA
✟9,593.00
Faith
Christian Seeker
Marital Status
Single
Hey all,

So, I'm a new college student that's absolutely loved studying things such as philosophy, theology, and church history for the past few years. A lot of people around me say I have a real gift of discernment (or prophecy, I've heard it both ways), and they say it's a big blessing.

Unfortunately, it also seems to be a heavy burden too. I don't have many friends, and those few I do have I can't really talk about heavy theological things with. It seems so many people are so caught up in this world that they're completely oblivious to the things lurking just beneath the surface. I'm even at a Christian university, and every time I see a couple madly in love, or a group of friends playing a board game, or a group going out to eat, I can't help but think about how shallow their life probably is.

So many Christians seem to be Christian in word and deed, but not in spirit. How many "Christians" weep over the divisions of the Church, or the rampant heresies therein, or the apathetic attitude so many "Christians" have towards growing in knowledge of God? Every time I mention doctrine or wanting to find out what's right and what's wrong, I get scowls and it's even gotten to the point where everyone in the group asks me to stop talking before I start. Many times I'll be sitting with a group of "friends" and they'll all just get up and go do something without inviting me or even saying goodbye.

Sometimes I see a couple in the corner, saying sweet things, other times I see a group of friends just getting along so well...and every time I do I wonder what it would be like to be so oblivious; ignorant to all the heavier things of life I've been made aware of. Popularity and acceptance, as hollow as I know they really are, are pretty tempting most of the time.