Do you think I have a shot at becoming a Navy Hospital Corpsman?

Bonnie77

Feb 3, 2013
California
✟8,266.00
Faith
Methodist
Marital Status
Single
Right now I work as a civilian for the Navy. I manage an MWR (Morale, Welfare and Recreation) rec center. But I'm considering actually joining the Navy.

I know a lot of times you don't get to choose your job and the Navy does it for you. But I want to be a Hospital Corpsman. Unfortunately I have a Bachelor's Degree but it is unrelated to the medical field. I was thinking about going back to school to become a dental hygienist or a nurse anyways. I enjoy working for the military so I figured why not enlist and work for a Naval hospital?

I'll admit my reasons to go for a business degree weren't very honorable or Christian-like. I wanted to be in business like my dad and was motivated by money. Turns out I don't have the attitude or business sense to really conquer the business world. And i dislike being in an office all day. I truly enjoy helping others. I feel like I'm not using my talents and compassion to the fullest in my current field.

I have good business and admin skills. So I'm afraid the Navy would use me for that type of office work since I'm already trained and have work experience. If I wanted to be a Hospital Corpsman they'd have to train me from the beginning.

What do you think my odds would be of getting a Corpsman MOS? Unfortunately I am getting rather old. I'm 27 now. I recently started a new job and have to stay here at least 18 months otherwise I have to pay back my moving allowance. So I'd probably be 29 before I could enlist.