Country
United States
Faith
United Ch. of Christ
Marital Status
Private
Politics
US-Democrat
What are the practical difference between confessional and non-confessional lutheranism, and what place does the Pietist movement play in mainstream Lutheran self-understanding? I am not an expert on Lutheranism, though I have read Luther's Smaller Catechism, but I would like to learn more- most of my experience has been with Anglicanism (of different parties, mostly charismatic and high church) and Eastern Orthodoxy. My impression of both Christian traditions is that they are both relatively broad, "non-confessional", and have some theological diversity (in the case of Anglicanism, quite a bit), so I am wondering how a tradition that is named after one single historical figure squares up in comparison to traditions that have no specific founder.

doulos_tou_kuriou

Located at the intersection of Forde and Giertz
Apr 26, 2006
MinneSO-TA. That's how they say it here, right?
✟17,424.00
Faith
Lutheran
Marital Status
Married
the practical difference would ultimately be to what degree adherence to the Lutheran theological tradition (as understood in the documents of the book of Concord) matters in how one "does church" so to speak. How one understands for example the confessional position of the papacy as anti-Christ will inevitably affect Lutheran-Catholic relations. The emphasis on proper administration of the sacrament (and some of the ways that has been laid out in the BoC) is a major area where confessional adherence matters.