California
✟302,720.00
Country
United States
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Single
I recently have install some Windows 11 in Virtual Box. Exploring new things, haven't used a Microsoft OS in a long time. Don't think I would install it on my main computer though. Little bit paranoid of Windows malware, makes me nervous. Hackers apparently target Windows first.

I did need a Microsoft account to get 11 setup. My computer is decent and runs the Windows VM pretty good.

Does Microsoft Edge web browser have an ad blocker of any kind available? I am a windows beginner LOL :p

Wookiee

Cool. Cool, cool, cool.
Jul 19, 2013
Australia
✟51,540.00
Country
Australia
Faith
Christian
I recently have install some Windows 11 in Virtual Box. Exploring new things, haven't used a Microsoft OS in a long time. Don't think I would install it on my main computer though. Little bit paranoid of Windows malware, makes me nervous. Hackers apparently target Windows first.
If you have generally safe browsing habits and good sense, it's very unlikely they'll get access. UAC prevents things running from elevated prompts, the firewall works, and Defender is a pretty decent AV these days.

Unless you leave everything open, you either have to do something silly like plug in an infected USB or allow someone direct access (ie through TeamViewer).
I did need a Microsoft account to get 11 setup. My computer is decent and runs the Windows VM pretty good.
If you use Pro/Enterprise you can tell it you're using it in a Work setting and it will let you create a local account. But yeah, they're forcing it for Home which is a bit painful to work with.
Does Microsoft Edge web browser have an ad blocker of any kind available? I am a windows beginner LOL :p
Edge will run any extensions Chrome will (they're both built on Chromium). I use uBlock.

Upvote 0

elytron

Oct 5, 2008
California
✟302,720.00
Country
United States
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Single