Aussiemum

Oct 5, 2006
✟129.00
Faith
Baptist
Marital Status
Married
Hi Everyone !

I am new to CF & having just spent the past two days reading the existing posts on 'Quiverfull' It has been really interesting to read all your viewpoints.

I am a sahm mum of five , ranging in age from 9 to 7 weeks and am currently trying to determine God's will in our family.

My Background:

When my third child was about 18 months old, I felt really uncomfortable with the birthcontrol that we were using (depoprovera) - for 2 reasons, 1. it didn't really physically agree with me and 2. I was feeling uneasy about the whole issue of contraception morally (but I didn't know why). Prior to this time I never even thought that having children had anything to do with God's will . So to cut a long story short, I prayed about it a lot & asked God to show me his will regarding children. This is what he did..

I had a strong impression to read Luke 1 :13

But the angel said unto him, Fear not, Zacharias: for thy prayer is heard; and thy wife Elisabeth shall bear thee a son, and thou shalt call his name John.

And thou shalt have joy and gladness; and many shall rejoice at his birth.

For he shall be great in the sight of the Lord, and shall drink neither wine nor strong drink; and he shall be filled with the Holy Ghost, even from his mother's womb.

I was stunned when I read this & in denial !!! Did this mean that by using contraception I could denying the birth of a great man of God?

I did not say anything to my Husband & went away to study it some more. I looked up all the verses in my bible relating to children & womb.

I found children were considered a blessing and a gift, that God opened & closed the womb and he 'knows' you from the womb. I could not find anything in the bible that said we were to control the amount of children born to us.