Natural Family Planning

barefoot04

Aug 20, 2009
✟7,613.00
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Married
I've always considered natural family planning letting God decide when and how many children we should have. But I've been doing it for 5 years and it no longer seems letting him decide. It seems like I'm in more control. More control even over birth control pills, condoms, ect.

Even having children would be planned because I know when I'm fertile and it's not llike I would never not know. It is the knowledge of how it works that seems to take away God's will.

I am thinking that I am wrong in some area of all this. So anybody who has a better understanding please help.

PegasusOnFire

is currently unsupervised...
Jun 25, 2003
Iowa
✟32,653.00
Faith
Non-Denom
Marital Status
Married
Politics
US-Republican
if God wants you to have another child, you will get pregnant. With my second daughter we were doing NFP and dd 5-6 days before my fertile time, and did not dd again until 3-4 days after the temp shift. She is now 2 years old. BTW we were going to start trying for her the following month. God is in control of all things, even though we think that we are.

Upvote 0

Sabertooth

Repartee Animal: Quipping the Saints!
Site Supporter
Jul 25, 2005
Wisconsin
Visit site
✟972,678.00
Country
United States
Faith
Charismatic
Marital Status
Married
Politics
US-Others
Your new thinking is correct. Medically unnecessary NFP IS at odds with Quiverfull, as is any deliberate, medically unnecessary contraception (whether it is successful or not). Apart from abortifacient contraception, you have no obligation before God to abandon [contraception], but if you believe that each successful conception in marriage is the expressed will of God, it doesn't make sense to actively oppose it.

Upvote 0

KathyO

Apr 21, 2009
Sydney
✟15,125.00
Faith
Pentecostal
Marital Status
Married