Visit site
✟15,679.00
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Single
Politics
US-Others
I spoke with a pastor friend of mine. He says the most important thing for you to do, is pray and read your bible every day. There's still no guarantee you will ever be a pastor. It is a calling and not just something you decide to do one day. If you truly feel a calling from God, I say go for it. Study, pray, and read your bible. I pray for your success in whatever God has for you.:prayer:

Upvote 0

Ptilinopus

May 1, 2007
Parkes NSW
✟15,810.00
Faith
SDA
Marital Status
Married
Hi Blessed!

I relate to your desire to be a pastor. I decided at age 9 to be a minister - and from then on, I never doubted it; all my high school studies, all my work, was aimed in that direction. As soon as I completed high school I applied for, and started theology training. Three years later, I realised that I did not fit my concept of a minister. I completed my degree in theology, but did not enter ministry - I took further studies and entered teaching - and later nursing (then taught nursing in mission service in Africa for 7 years). More career changes until 5 years ago, the Lord spoke to me in meditation time, to tell me, "You've been running away long enough. I want you to come back to your first calling." I obeyed, and have been in ministry now for 4½ years, and though I entered it late, have never regretted it.

Why the long tale? Don't doubt your desire to follow the Lord; He promises to guide our paths if we are willing to submit to His leading (Prov.3:5,6). He may lead you to ministry directly, He may lead you via a detour (as He did me). In my case, looking back, I can see I was not ready to be a minister - dogmatic, argumentative, cocky, full of myself - no, the Lord needed to knock a few corners off before He could use me in ministry. Meanwhile, He used me in other areas.