Historically Accurate Book on the Origins of the Biblical Canon

Oct 10, 2011
✟7,728.00
Faith
Seeker
Marital Status
Engaged
Hello,

I am currently seeking out the Christian faith. I am studying various topics extensively, and am currently working to understand the origins of the Bible.

I have read some information on the topic, but a thread in another forum got me interested in the topic.

What is a good book for learning about how the Bible was formed? I know who wrote the books of the Bible, and such. However, how was in canonized, is what I'm mostly looking for. Through councils, Church Fathers, and so on..?

What is a good book that is not so much biased, but historically accurate. I come here because if there is a bias, I would prefer a Catholic bias, but I would more like a unbiased book. "Just tell me the facts."

Thank you.

Grace and peace to you all.

pathfinder777

Dec 29, 2010
Orange County CA
✟8,057.00
Faith
Catholic
Marital Status
Married
Hello,

I am currently seeking out the Christian faith. I am studying various topics extensively, and am currently working to understand the origins of the Bible.

I have read some information on the topic, but a thread in another forum got me interested in the topic.

What is a good book for learning about how the Bible was formed? I know who wrote the books of the Bible, and such. However, how was in canonized, is what I'm mostly looking for. Through councils, Church Fathers, and so on..?

What is a good book that is not so much biased, but historically accurate. I come here because if there is a bias, I would prefer a Catholic bias, but I would more like a unbiased book. "Just tell me the facts."

Thank you.

Grace and peace to you all.

This is one of my favorite subjects. This list is from William Harmless S.J. Bibliography website which is an excellent resource on a multitude of subjects relating to Christianity. His website can be accessed at