Dan O'Donnell

Sep 26, 2010
✟15,112.00
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Married
Christian Friends,

I thought it would be nice to hear from the Trumpet players on this site if you play in your church or not and share some things related to your playing and how God has blessed you and has been a part of your playing.

I've got (2) things to share...

When I was a teenager, I played Trumpet pretty well, so well in fact that I was very full of the sin of pride.

I played solos at my church while the Pastor played Piano with me.
All was fine when my heart was right with God until something changed.

I became a Christian out of the will of God in private and yet put on a false "church" life.

One Sunday night (after I was asked to play a solo during the evening service) I chose a real easy piece that the Pastor and I had played many times.

As I stood on "my stage" (because during this time in my teenage life it was all about me and not Him) I started playing the song on my Trumpet.

I then encountered what I believed was the impossible...I literally could not play even just one note properly on my Trumpet.

It sounded so bad with a tremendous amount of back-pressure to the point where I stopped during "my performance" to see if my towel was stuck in my bell (which it was not).

My horrible playing went on throughout the piece and it was immediately after "my performance" that I had a real understanding of what happened...
My heart and life wasn't worthy of playing for Him, in fact, it was disrespectful for me to have that type of attitude ect. while 'trying" to play for His people.

I then stopped playing and not too long later, (through God's perfect grace), I turned to him and have never looked back in disappointment since as I have been actively playing in church for well over (15) years since God got my attention.

Now for the 2nd blessing...