• Starting today August 7th, 2024, in order to post in the Married Couples, Courting Couples, or Singles forums, you will not be allowed to post if you have your Marital status designated as private. Announcements will be made in the respective forums as well but please note that if yours is currently listed as Private, you will need to submit a ticket in the Support Area to have yours changed.

Church of England bans non-alcoholic wine, gluten-free bread from communion: 'injustice

Michie

Well-Known Member
Site Supporter
Feb 5, 2002
176,529
62,622
Woods
✟5,465,078.00
Country
United States
Gender
Female
Faith
Catholic
Marital Status
Married
Politics
US-Others
The Church of England has officially affirmed that non-alcoholic wine and gluten-free bread cannot be used as substitutes when taking communion after clergy asked to end the "injustice" to those unable to consume wheat flour or alcohol.

Ahead of the General Synod taking place in London this week, the denomination's leadership reiterated that the bread used in the sacrament must be made from wheat flour, and wine must be the fermented juice of the grape in order to be consecrated, The Telegraph reported.

While alternatives made from rice or potato flour are not permitted, wheat flour can be processed to remove most gluten, and alcohol can be extracted after fermentation, though some residue remains, according to the documents.

Continued below.
 
  • Like
Reactions: jas3

chevyontheriver

Well-Known Member
Site Supporter
Sep 29, 2015
21,931
19,034
Flyoverland
✟1,259,979.00
Country
United States
Gender
Male
Faith
Catholic
Marital Status
Married
Politics
US-American-Solidarity
The Church of England has officially affirmed that non-alcoholic wine and gluten-free bread cannot be used as substitutes when taking communion after clergy asked to end the "injustice" to those unable to consume wheat flour or alcohol.

Ahead of the General Synod taking place in London this week, the denomination's leadership reiterated that the bread used in the sacrament must be made from wheat flour, and wine must be the fermented juice of the grape in order to be consecrated, The Telegraph reported.

While alternatives made from rice or potato flour are not permitted, wheat flour can be processed to remove most gluten, and alcohol can be extracted after fermentation, though some residue remains, according to the documents.

Continued below.
I am pleasantly SHOCKED that they would be so traditional, demanding real wheat and real wine. Low alcohol wine is still wine and low gluten wheat is still wheat. But they wisely excluded mere juices and rice cakes and ... stuff. Maybe there is a tiny bit of hope after all?
 
  • Prayers
Reactions: Michie
Upvote 0